Wear Purple

29 Jan

Today is anti-bullying day at my children’s school. To recognize the significance of the day, they are asked to wear purple. “Whoa, whoa, whoa,” you may be thinking, “didn’t they just have a themed outfit day at your children’s school?” Yes. They did. They have officially crossed the line and asked too much of me. It’s definitely a lot to keep track of, but luckily #1 is always on top of things and had this on his mental calendar. Nice try, school administrators, but I did not look like the mom who has no idea what’s going on today. My kids wore purple!

Please do not assume that this was an easy task getting three purple outfits pulled together at the last-minute. It was not, but I did it, and the entire time I was searching my sons’ closets for one purple item, I was thinking how ridiculous the whole thing was. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not condoning bullying. It’s horrible and terrible and no kid should have to feel bad about himself. However, does forcing the entire student body into purple attire really make a difference? I think not.

Is the purple thing a way to identify bullies? Perhaps the principal plans on walking through all the classes and writing down all the students who don’t have on purple. Does she then make a bully list and intervene? I don’t get it. I believe the only purpose this really serves is to remind teachers which parents don’t have it together. Backpacks, coats, gloves, lunches, snacks, homework, AND you want my kid in a purple shirt?! It’s too much, but today I did it. I’m glad to fly under the radar on this one, but I do feel slightly coerced, threatened, and controlled by the powers that be, which I’m pretty sure makes me a victim of bullying. Excuse me while I go find a purple shirt to put on.

One Response to “Wear Purple”

  1. Sarah January 29, 2014 at 5:03 pm #

    So glad you are back! Love each post so far!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 358 other followers

