A post for Jamie, because she asked

20 May

I hate being left out. I don’t necessarily ever really want to be part of anything, but I do want to know I could be included if I wanted to be. Lately, I’ve felt very excluded. Everyone I know is posting adorable videos of their little girls singing and dancing “Let It Go” or sharing photos of their daughter dressed up like Elsa or Anna. I have a little girl. Why doesn’t she do these cute little princess things? Why can’t we be part of this moment in pop culture?

I thought about this and realized that she dislikes princesses and loathes animation, which makes it difficult for her to get on the Frozen bandwagon. Additionally, there is no Anna to her Elsa or Elsa to her Anna. She has brothers. They are certainly not interested in belting out Frozen tunes and spinning around in blue dresses, and so, we are seemingly the only house with a little girl not incessantly crooning, “Do you want to build a snowman?”. I have been left out.

I can’t blame Disney. They must have done something right in order to reach nearly everyone. I swear I hear moms humming the tunes while meandering through Target. While mocking the fact that their brain is probably liquefying at that very moment, I still have a twinge of jealousy. I want to be part of this!

This morning, my wish came true. While #2 was busy accessorizing a sensible dress, I heard sweet music coming from the bathroom. I glided toward the tune, anxious to join in.

“Let it go, let it go. Can’t hold it back anymore!”

As I was about to join in the chorus, I realized the sweet sound wasn’t coming from her. It was #3, singing from his own little porcelain throne. I turned and left him to his business, but “Let It Go” is now stuck in my head too, which is all I ever really wanted. Hopefully the little diddy helps me remember to stock up on some cereal with added fiber while I’m humming through the aisles of Target.

2 Responses to “A post for Jamie, because she asked”

  1. Sarah M. May 20, 2014 at 1:48 pm #

    We had an entire movie recap with three girls the other night! Love that you are writing again!

  2. Jamie Sterchi May 20, 2014 at 2:21 pm #

    Again, again!
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 358 other followers

